Latest News from News 3

Las Vegas News | Weather | Sports | Traffic - MyNews3

MLB rules Ortiz pop up a hit in Darvish no-hit bid

Set Text Size SmallSet Text Size MediumSet Text Size LargeSet Text Size X-Large
Updated: 5/14/2014 2:23 pm

New York, NY ( - Major League Baseball has changed the scoring in Texas starter Yu Darvish's no-hit bid from last Friday against Boston, ruling David Ortiz's seventh-inning pop up that fell in short right field a hit.

Darvish had retired the first 20 batters when Ortiz hit a pop up that fell between second baseman Rougned Odor and right fielder Alex Rios. Official scorer Steve Weller initially called it an error, citing Rule 10.12 that says a play that can be made with "ordinary effort" can be judged as an error even if no player touches the ball.

Rios was charged with the error and Darvish' no-hit bid continued into the ninth inning, when Ortiz laced a clean single with two outs to spoil it.

The Red Sox appealed the ruling and MLB overturned the call.




All content © Copyright 2015 Sinclair Broadcast Group. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service
You may also view our Sitemap.

FCC assistance for any person with disabilities can be provided by contacting us at

KSNV Profile & Public Inspection Files

2015 NBCUniversal Media, LLC. All rights reserved. Portions by Broadcast Interactive Media

Inergize Digital This site is hosted and managed by Inergize Digital.
Mobile advertising for this site is available on Local Ad Buy.